Gluten Free Diet

IMG_3247
What is Gluten? Gluten is a protein found in grains (wheat, rye, barley). People who have celiac disease cannot consume gluten. If consumed this will cause inflammation in their small intestine, causing discomfort in the abdominal ( this could lead into weight loss and nutrition deficiencies if continued on a gluten diet). Many who have celiac disease will have to depend on a gluten free diet. Fortunately, there are so many selections these days that can replace gluten. So you don’t have to worry about the limitation of foods! Besides avoiding ingredients like wheat, rye, barley on labels, make sure to watch out for terms MALT and HYDROLYZED VEGETABLE PROTEIN when choosing a gluten free diet!

Gluten Free Diet should AVIOD
-wheat
-rye
-barley
-oats
-breads
-cakes/cookies
-pasta
-crackers
-cereals
-Most beers are made of gluten

For more info on what foods are allowed and what isn’t click HERE

Stay Hearty.

One Response to Gluten Free Diet

  1. I’m gluten free! Not by choice, but by allergy :-( If I eat gluten I basically look about 6 months pregnant for the next week. Soooo not worth it. I can eat oats though! In fact, a lot of people with gluten sensitivity can eat oats :-) Technically they aren’t gluten, but the concern is that a lot of the time they are farmed together.

    – Alex at Cashmere Kangaroo

Go to top